To top
5 Oct

Coke Studio season 12 line-up & premiere date released

It’s that time of the year again, and with the air turning crisp, Coke Studio’s latest installment is giving us even more of a nostalgic feel. With Rohail Hyatt at the helm of the project once again after years, the trailer of season 12 is strongly reminiscent of the earliest seasons of the show. From the studio set-up to the artists in the line-up and the promo sound, it feels as though one has traveled through time and landed in another place.

The line-up this year boasts of a number of iconic names that are sure to hit it right, as they have in years prior. Not just known names, the list also includes singers and songstresses from far and wide; as the Coke Studio team puts it, there are weary camel herders from Balochistan, the soft vowels of Pashto, zesty flavors of Punjabi, earthy tones of Sindhi, Sufi tales on divine love, and stories from Kashmir. It’s bound to be a season chock-full of timeless music, it seems!



Coke Studio has revealed the following featured artists for Season 12; Abrar-ul-Haq, Aima Baig, Ali Sethi, Atif Aslam, Banur’s Band, Barkat Jamal Fakir Troupe, Fareed Ayaz and Abu Muhammad with Humnawa, Fariha Pervez, Hadiqa Kiani, Harsakhiyan, Kashif Din, Nimra Rafiq, Quratulain Baloch, Rachel Viccaji, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Sahir Ali Bagga, Sanam Marvi, Shahab Hussain, Shamali Afghan, Shuja Haider, Umair Jaswal, Zeb Bangash and Zoe Viccaji.

Season 12 also marks the return of the houseband, with Mehr Qadir, Nimra Rafiq, Rachel Viccaji, and Shahab Hussain on backing vocals; Amir Azhar, Javed Iqbal, Kamran “Mannu” Zafar, Sarmad Ghafoor, Tanveer Tafu, Varqa Faraid, Zain Ali on tonal instruments; and finally, Aziz Kazi, Babar Khanna, Hassan Mohyeddin, Kami Paul, and Veeru Shan on percussions.

The season will also a number of guest musicians including a Balochi Troupe with Mohammad Bux Aaharr, Shaihan Khan, Shehzad Sardar, Taj Muhammad Buledi; a KPK Troupe with Abdul Majid, Fazal Kareem, Khurshid, Zafar Ali; and a Sindhi Troupe with Mevo Khan, Muhammad Talib, Roshan Ali and Shoukat Ali Faqeer.

Additionally, Coke Studio Season 12 will have Sajid Ali on flute, Omran Shafique on guitar, Syed Saif Abbas on bass guitar, Sadiq Sameer on rubab, Shahzad Ali on harmonium, Fazal Abbas on tabla, Shakoor Faqeer on khamach, and Noor Baksh on banjo as guest musicians.

The first episode of Coke Studio Season 12 will be released on 11th October 2019. Watch the promo here:



Entertainment Desk

From films to dramas and everything in between, we've got it all covered!