To top
14 Jan

As expected, Dangal wins big at the 62nd Filmfare Awards

The 62nd Filmfare Awards came with a good set of shockers. Whether it was the fact that all the three Khans of the film industry were nominated in the best actor category after a span of 19 years, or that despite all the retaliation against Pakistani artistes, they were nominated, the awards brought some major snubs in the public eye. We have to say that despite what anyone says, it was very fair of the award office to nominate Pakistani artistes (given the circumstances) and then to stock to the decision despite Shiv Sena retaliation.

We knew that there would be zero wins for artistes this side of the border (though Fawad Khan would have walked away with the trophy had this been 2016) however, it seems that Bollywood’s own stars had it worse with solid actors like Akshay Kumar, Sushant Singh Rajput, and Pink’s Taapsee Pannu amongst others not even being nominated for any category, leading to a public outcry.



With three films dominating the awards at Filmfare –Dangal, Neerja and Udta Punjab, yet another shocker remained with Sultan winning no awards! Was it truly justified with films such as Udta Punjab and Fan being selected in the top nominations despite underperforming in comparison to Salman Khan’s blockbuster? The fans didn’t really think so as #BoycottFilmfare trended in India.

Despite such decisions, the awards remained big on star power and glamour, which of course made the ‘Black Lady’ as coveted as it has always been. Here’s the full list of those who won big at Filmfare:

Best Actor (Male): Aamir Khan for Dangal

Best Actor (Female): Alia Bhatt for ‘Udta Punjab

Best Film: ‘Dangal’

Best Director: Nitesh Tiwari for ‘Dangal

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Film: ‘Neerja

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor (Male): Shahid Kapoor for ‘Udta Punjab’ and Manoj Bajpayee for ‘Aligarh

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor (Female): Sonam Kapoor for ‘Neerja

Best Actor (Male) in a Short Film: Manoj Bajpayee for ‘Taandav

Best Short Film People’s Choice: Khamakha

Best Short Film (Fiction): ‘Chutney

Best Short Film (Non-fiction): ‘Matitali Kusti

Best Actor (Female) in a Short Film: Tisca Chopra for ‘Chutney

Best Debut Director: Ashwini Iyer Tiwari for ‘Nil Battey Sannata

Best Male Debut: Diljit Dosanjh for ‘Udta Punjab

Best Female Debut: Ritika Singh for ‘Saala Khadoos

Best Dialogue: Ritesh Shah for ‘Pink

Best Screenplay: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for ‘Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)

Best Story: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for ‘Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Rishi Kapoor for ‘Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Shabana Azmi for ‘Neerja

Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award: Shatrughan Sinha

Best Music Album: Pritam for ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for ‘Channa Mereya’ from ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for ‘Ae dil hai mushkil’ from ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Female): Neha Bhasin for ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ from ‘Sultan’

Filmfare RD Burman Award for New Music Talent: Amit Mishra for ‘Bulleya‘ from ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’

Best Visual Effects: Red Chillies for ‘Fan

Best Editing: Monisha Baldawa for ‘Neerja

Best Costume: Payal Saluja for ‘Udta Punjab

Best Action: Shyam Kaushal for ‘Dangal

Shahjehan Saleem

The author is Contributing Editor at Something Haute as well as a professor in the Media Sciences department at SZABIST, Karachi. Socio-cultural theories and geography fill up the rest of his time.